Background

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Blog Tour: Compromising Willa by Diana Quincy (Review & Giveaway)




About the Book
Title: COMPROMISING WILLA
Author: Diana Quincy
EBook: 267 pages
Release Date: December 9, 2013
ISBN: 978-1622664146


England, 1805

Lady Wilhelmina Stanhope is ruined and everyone knows it. Back in Town for the first season since her downfall, Willa plans to remain firmly on the shelf, assuming only fortune hunters will want her now. Instead she focuses on her unique tea blends, secretly supporting a coffee house which employs poor women and children. If her clandestine involvement in trade is discovered, she'll be ruined. Again.

No one is more shocked by Willa's lack of quality suitors than the newly minted Duke of Hartwell. Having just returned from India, the dark duke is instantly attracted to the mysterious wallflower. His pursuit is hampered by the ruthless Earl of Bellingham, who once jilted Willa and is now determined to reclaim her.

Caught between the clash of two powerful men, a furious Willa refuses to concede her independence to save her reputation. But will she compromise her heart?

My Thoughts:

When I started Compromising Willa I was a bit confused. A lot the confusion stem from me reading the first book,  Seducing Charlotte. All right here's a spoiler if you haven't read Seducing Charlotte, Camryn ends up married to Charlotte in the end. So, I was going into the story thinking Camryn is married and come to find out he's not married yet. Which really bothered me, so I had to go back to the first book to see if Hartwell is married in that story. I come to find out he is. You have to look at this story as a prequel to the first book in a way if you had read Seducing Charlotte. If you haven't read seducing Seducing Charlotte yet, you might consider reading Compromising Willa first, so you don't get all confused like I was.  

Other than that I did enjoyed the story. I liked Willa and her passion to want to be more than what society dictates a woman should be. I also liked Hartwell even though he kind of listened to the gossip behind Willa. Yes, he tried to move pass his issues, but it kind of spilled over into their relationship. However, I did like how Hartwell realize he couldn't keep Willa in a gilded cage and was willing to give her freedom.

Now Bellingham was the a blackguard. He didn't some pretty horrible things and they could have been played a little more. However, his character did contribute the trouble Willa and Hartwell faced. I did like how they handle him in the end even though it felt a bit rush.

Overall, not a bad read once I got past my confusion at the beginning. I guess this was a way to see how Hartwell became the Duke and ended up with Willa. I did like how Willa challenge Hartwell and I like how Hartwell was willing to let Willa be herself. So, this story can be read as a stand-alone, because of where it takes place in the story. Basically, if you haven't read any of the previous Accidental Peers you might considering this Compromising Willa first and you might enjoy Camryn fall more.

Copy provided by publisher

Rating:


About Diana:
Diana Quincy is an award-winning former television journalist who decided she'd rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed.

Fans of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas and Sabrina Jeffries will love her Regency world of dashing dukes, irresistible rogues and the headstrong, determined women who capture their hearts. New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes says SEDUCING CHARLOTTE is "Sweet, steamy, and thoroughly enjoyable...Equal parts action, passion and fun."

Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with her husband and two sons. When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows. Diana loves to hear from readers. You can follow her on Twitter @Diana_Quincy or visit her website at www.dianaquincy.com

To learn more about Diana's upcoming books and for sneak previews and other special exclusive giveaways, please consider signing up for her quarterly newsletters at www.dianaquincy.com. Diana understands your information is private and promises NEVER to share it with anyone.

Giveaway Details:

1 Paperback of Tempting Bella, 1 tin of Compromising Willa Custom Tea, and a $10 Starbucks Gift Card! US Only.

3 eBooks of Compromising Willa International



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

Week One:
2/17/2014-Michelle Chew Writes- Review
2/17/2014- Simply Ali- Scavenger Hunt
2/18/2014- Bookworm Blurbs- Review
2/18/2014- herding cats & burning soup               - Interview
2/19/2014- Curling Up With A Good Book- Scavenger Hunt
2/20/2014- Ramblings From This Chick- Review
2/20/2014- Sapphyria's Book Reviews- Guest Post (Top 10's)
2/21/2014- BookGroupies- Review
2/21/2014- Romantic Reads and Such- Scavenger Hunt

Week Two:
2/24/2014- Always Reiding- Review
2/24/2014- Fade Into Fantasy- Scavenger Hunt
2/25/2014- The Gal in the Blue Mask- Review
2/25/2014- Fab Fantasy Fiction- Interview
2/26/2014- What I'm Reading- Review
2/26/2014- Ex Libris- Scavenger Hunt
2/27/2014- Becky on Books- Review
2/27/2014- Reviews by Crystal- Guest Post (Top 10's)
2/28/2014- The La La Land of Books- Review

2/28/2014- Talking Books Blog- Scavenger Hunt

2 comments:

  1. I love historical books and this one sounds so unusual. I'll be sure to keep in mind your suggested reading order to decrease confusion. Thanks for the post.

    Marcy Shuler
    bmndshuler(at)hotmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  2. This looks like a very enjoyable read. I have added it to my TBR wishlist. I appreciate your advise for reading order.Thanks for sharing a new author, to me, with us.

    ReplyDelete