Background

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Tasty Book Tours Spotlight + Review + Giveaway: His Saving Grace by Sharon Cullen


His Saving Grace
Secrets & Seduction # 4
By: Sharon Cullen
Releasing December 23rd, 2014
Loveswept



Blurb

Perfect for fans of Mary Balogh, Sharon Cullen’s captivating novel tells the deeply emotional tale of two devoted lovers facing the ravages of war.

For months now, Lady Grace Ashworth has mourned the death of her beloved husband—until the day a very-much-alive Michael arrives at her front door. It’s nothing less than a miracle. However, Grace soon realizes that this Michael isn’t the same man who left for the Crimean War. She’s stunned to learn that he has suffered a devastating head injury. Putting all her own desires aside, Grace resolves to devote herself to Michael’s recovery and to love him no matter what troubles may come.

Convinced that his wife is wasting her time on a broken man, Michael attempts to shield Grace from a life of inconvenience by driving her away. But Grace will have none of that. Despite every obstacle Michael throws in her path, she stubbornly soldiers on, fighting not only for their marriage but for the love they once shared. In the end, will her determination alone be enough to save Michael from the darkness that threatens to consume him?

My Thoughts:


His Saving Grace is a beautifully written story about overcoming obstacles. Seriously, Grace has some major trials in the story, and most people would have thrown the towel and gave up. However, Grace stood her ground. She was such a strong character even though she didn't realize this. Here's why: 1) She dealt with her skeevy brother-in-law. 2) When her husband came back, she took it all in strive. 3) She didn't let anyone push her out, especially her husband. This makes Grace a remarkable person. Personally, I would have just said, "Fine; I'm done," but she didn't she hung in there. 

Michael. Poor guy. He comes back from the war a changed man and he doesn't know how to cope with it. So, he turns to anger and frustration in hopes of pushing anyone who might care away. Fortunately, he has a stubborn wife who refuse to bend to his will. In essences we have the battle of wills going on between Michael and Grace. 

I think it's important to mention this third character that plays the mediator between Michael and Grace, Tarik. Tarik is this strong, intimidating character, but he's also quiet and observant. He's the sounding board for Michael and Grace, so he helps them see where each of one is coming from. I love some of the wisdom that Tarik imparts at times. Example:
"Yes. He is different, but it is not a bad difference. You were expecting your husband to return to you the same as before, but war is not like that. Even if his head had not been injured, he would be a changed man. War does such things."
I liked him, and truth be told I would love to see Tarik have a happy ending. Just wishful thinking.

I enjoyed His Saving Grace, because it wasn't sugar-coated. It took a story about these two people who love one another and put them through a ringer. They both had to work to get to a happy ending. Sometimes that's hard, especially when one of the party isn't willing to the effort into making it work. You see that with Grace, and how she wanted to make their lives work. There were times where I had tears leaking out, because of Grace's struggles. I wasn't too upset with Michael's attitude, because it was his coping mechanism. Yes, a beautiful story that was well written with issues nobody likes to take into account. I believe, Sharon did a wonderful job portraying this couple with struggles that come with separation of war can have and the effects that it might cause (even if the characters are fictional).

Copy provided by Random House via NetGalley




Buy Links: 
Amazon | Barnes | iTunes | Kobo
Author Info
Sharon Cullen is the author of the historical romances The Notorious Lady Anne, Loving the Earl, and Pleasing the Pirate, as well as many novels of romantic suspense, paranormal romance, and contemporary romance. If you’d like to find out more about the author and her books, you can visit her blog or her website. She is addicted to social networking so you can find her on Facebook and Twitter. Friend her! Like her! Follow her! She’d love to hang out with you and talk about her passion: books.

Author Links:



Rafflecopter Giveaway 
($25.00 eGift Card to Choice Book Seller and Loveswept Mug & Tote)


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Link to Follow Tour:  

4 comments:

  1. Thank you again for hosting today! Here is to a Great New Year!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for having me. Happy New Year!

    ReplyDelete
  3. And I loved this review! Just what I already thought from reading blurbs and excerpts. The author doesn't sugarcoat what war does to a person. PTSD. We still don't have all the answers to treat this problem even to this day! But Grace, with grace, hung in there and did what needed to be done. What a steadfast friend and wife! I only hope Michael appreciates her in the end. After all, this is a romance. :-) Thanks for this review and post. jdh2690@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete